Karine Jackson Concludes her Reign as President of the Fellowship for British Hairdressing

by akesha / last updated April 15, 2019

ken picton new president of fellowship of british hairdressing

After two successful years as the president of The Fellowship of British Hairdressing, Karine Jackson handed the title to Ken Picton at the annual President’s Night which was held at The Landmark Hotel.

The evening began with Champagne and canapes as models representing work the Fellowship’s projects stood throughout as the guests could view the team members’ styles up close. Alongside the projects there were presentation models from Fellowship Hairdresser of the Year, Tina Farey, and winner of Fellowship Image of the Year, Robert Masciave.

Attendees also saw the winner of the Christofer Mann Step Up and Shine Scholarship announced; one hairdresser who will go on to enjoy a year of incredible education thanks to a £2,500 bursary and support from the Fellowship and mentor, Debbie G. The winner was named as Amanda Linehan from Hot Trends Hair and Beauty in Kent.

And then came the main event – the handing over the presidency to Ken Picton. During Karine’s tenure as president, she launched the Barber Project and yet-to-be-released Digital Project, introduced the Live Lounge interview concept, taken the Fellowship on the road and increased membership.

“It has been an absolute privilege to be President of the Fellowship,” said Karine. “I have loved every minute and am proud of the changes we have made during my tenure. I can’t think of anyone better to hand over to then Ken; I wish him every success and can’t wait to see the Fellowship continue to go from strength to strength.”

Robert Eaton will serve as vice-president. A multi-award winning hairdresser and colourist, Rob is also part of British hairdressing heritage as son of Russell Eaton – whose eponymous Yorkshire salon group has been successfully open for more than 40 years.

At its AGM, Fellowship members also voted in its Council, who will now go on to advise on all aspects of the Fellowship including teams, events, sponsorship and membership. The voted members joining the Council for 2019 are as follows:

Michelle Griffin
Edward Hemmings
Ashleigh Hodges
Nick Irwin
Kerry Mather
Jo Robertson
Phillip Rogers
Simon Shaw
Andreas Stavrou
Barry Stephen
Kai Wan
Louise Wood

Get more hairdressing news, advice and exclusive competitions delivered straight to your inbox



Load more