HJ’s 2017 British Hairdressing Awards Finalists Revealed

by ruthhunsley / last updated July 26, 2017

After a day of judging with some of the most respected hairdressers in the industry, the finalists for HJ’s British Hairdressing Awards, sponsored by Schwarzkopf Professional, are revealed.

The finalists in nine regional and six specialist categories will now go on to the second round judging, which will see their collection of eight images judged by industry peers and beauty press. The winners will be announced at a glittering event at the Grosvenor House hotel on Mayfair’s Park Lane on 27 November 2017.


Eastern Hairdresser of the Year
Christian Wiles, Christian Wiles Hairdressing, Northampton
Paul Falltrick, GFC Hairdressing, Hornchurch
Helen Stilwell and Jessica Neil, KH Hair, Nottingham
Joseph I’Anson and Lisa Graham, Mark Leeson, Mansfield
Alastair Jubbs, Vae Hair, Norfolk
Lisa-Marie Seldon and Emma Bedwell, Hoop, Clacton-on-Sea

London Hairdresser of the Year
Desmond Murray, Atherton Cox, New Cavendish Street
Taiki Ogawa, Eton Crop, Museum Street
Jake Unger, HOB Salons, Jamestown Street
Indira Schauwecker, TONI&GUY, Bedford Street
Daniele de Angelis, TONI&GUY, Commercial Street
Darren Webster, Webster Whiteman, Pollen Street

Midlands Hairdresser of the Year
Stephanie Gamble and Ashley Gamble, Ashley Gamble, Shifnal
Lewis Moore, Lewis Moore Salons, Sutton Coldfield
Shaun Hall, Mark Leeson, Chesterfield
Kieron Fowles, Regis, Birmingham
Royston Blythe and Charles Douek, Royston Blythe, Shrewsbury
Nick Malenko and Sophie Beattie, Royston Blythe, Wolverhampton

North Eastern Hairdresser of the Year
Sarah Cotton, Bang, York
Alan Simpson and Karen Storr-Simpson, Contemporary, Cleveland
Jonathan Turner, Hooker & Young, Newcastle Upon Tyne
Joseph Ferraro, Joseph Ferraro Hair, Harrogate
Rick Roberts, Rick Roberts, Beverley
Isobel Eaton, Russell Eaton, Barnsley

North Western Hairdresser of the Year
Gary Taylor, Edward & Co., Brighouse
Melenie Tudor, En Route Hair and Beauty, Wakefield
Daniel Couch and Ashleigh Maybank, Russell Eaton, Leeds
Laura Kulik and Ria Kulik, The Hairbank, Urmston
Jon Wilson, TONI&GUY, Deansgate
Jess Lyon and Ashley Wallace, Yazz Number One Hair Studio, Leeds

Northern Ireland Hairdresser of the Year
Andrew Mulvenna, Andrew Mulvenna, Belfast
Kevin Kahan, Kevin Kahan, Bangor
Damien Johnson, Pure Hair, Belfast
Julie Cherry and Colette Fitzpatrick, Shane Bennett Salon, Lisburn
Paul Stafford and Leisa Stafford, Stafford Salon, Belfast
Julian Dalrymple, The Sitting Room Hairdressing, Ballymena

Scottish Hairdresser of the Year
Caroline Sanderson and Claire McIntyre, Ego Hair Design, Inverness
Paul Paterson, Ishi Salon, Edinburgh
Jason Hall, Jason Hall Hairdressing, Edinburgh
Colin McAndrew, Medusa, Edinburgh
Suzie McGill and Dylan Brittain, Rainbow Room International, Glasgow
Sophie Laidlaw, Wonderland, Livingston

Southern Hairdresser of the Year
Altin Ismail, Marc Antoni, Reading
Daniel Spiller, Marc Antoni, Fleet
Ceri Cushen, Metropolis Hairdressing, Kingston-upon-Thames
Ryan Humpage, RUSH Hair, Epsom
Thomas Hills, TH1 Hair, Oxted
David Baker and Ben Hendry, The Vault, Claygate

Wales & South West Hairdresser of the Year
Craig Chapman, Craig Chapman Hair Design, Launceston
Mia Dellicompagni and Amy Sultan, Francesco Group, Poole
Zoe Williams and Scott Evans, Ken Picton Salon, Cardiff
Lara Johnson and Dom Capel, Lara Johnson Lifestyle, Swansea
Casey Coleman, Ocean Hairdressing, Cardiff
Steven Smart, Smartest 73, Weston-Super-Mare 


Afro Hairdresser of the Year
Charlotte Mensah, Hair Lounge, London
Anthony Grant, Jamie Stevens Hair, London
Lathaniel Chambers, Lathaniels Couture Hair and Beauty, London
Aycan Kemal, New York Hair Design, London
Sophie Springett and Hayley Bishop, TONI&GUY Old Brompton Road, London
Harry Casey, Jamie Stevens, London

Artistic Team of the Year
Hooker & Young, Newcastle Upon Tyne
Mark Leeson, Mansfield
RUSH Hair, London
Russell Eaton, Leeds
Shane Bennett Salon, Lisburn
TONI&GUY, London

Avant Garde Hairdresser of the Year
Anne Veck, Anne Veck Salons, Oxford
Emmanuel Esteban, Anne Veck Salons, Oxford
Joanne O’Neill, Joanne O’Neill Hairdressing, Dunloy
Seung Ki Baek, RUSH Hair, Epsom
Lucie Monbillard, Seanhanna, Putney
Shelley Pengilly, Shelleys Salon, Bridgend
Sylvestre Finold, TONI&GUY, Wimbledon

Men’s Hairdresser of the Year
Michael Francos, D&J Ambrose, Pinner
Joanna Jane Surace, Essensuals/ TONI&GUY, London
Jason Hall, Jason Hall Hairdressing, Edinburgh
Kevin Luchmun, Kevin Luchmun, Cheshunt
Terri Kay and Andrea Giles, Mark Leeson, Mansfield
Ross Charles, Ross Charles, York

Newcomer of the Year
Olivia Nevill, Ashley Gamble, Shifnal
Grace Dalgleish, Brooks & Brooks, London
Sophie Chandler, RUSH Hair, Croydon
Michael Rackett, RUSH Hair, Croydon
Frazer Wallace, Seanhanna, Putney
Brooke Evans, Tim Scott-Wright @ The Hair Surgery, Stourbridge

Schwarzkopf Professional British Colour Technician of the Year
Clayde Baumann, D&J Ambrose, Pinner
Paul Dennison, Ken Picton Salon, Cardiff
Richard Darby and Mark Leeson, Mark Leeson, Mansfield
Suzie McGill and Dylan Brittain, Rainbow Room International, Glasgow
Robert Eaton, Russell Eaton, Leeds
Stephanie Gamble and Ashley Gamble,

Get more hairdressing news, advice and exclusive competitions delivered straight to your inbox



Load more