Future Talent

TONI&GUY Breakthrough Team Xtra 2019 Champions are Revealed

by lydiah / last updated November 6, 2019

TONI&GUY Breakthrough Team Xtra 2019 Champions

The Breakthrough Team Xtra 2019 finalists competed in front of a judging panel, family and colleagues in a bid to be named the TONI&GUY Breakthrough Team Xtra 2019 Champions on Tuesday 5th November 2019 at Porchester Hall in Bayswater, West London.

TONI&GUY’s Breakthrough Team Xtra Programme in partnership with L’Oréal Professionnel involves a year-long mentorship scheme that sees 12 rising stars within the TONI&GUY network come together as a team to participate in activities outside of the salon. The tasks include a photoshoot and working backstage at London Fashion Week and London Fashion Week Men’s.

The members of the three teams competing against one another to be named the Breakthrough Team Xtra 2019 included:

Team 1 – Lucia Gaeta, Agne Nemeiksyte, Ignas Dilys, Elle Hadland.

Team 2 – Massimo Verrengia, Eloise Williams, Michela Bazzoli, Tomer Nagar.

Team 3 – Caroline Gonzalez, Gabriele D’Avella, Gloria Dalla Benetta, Matthew Darvil.

Each team displayed show-stopping examples of expert colour, cutting and avant garde and were asked to present a video explaining the theme behind their collection, a live catwalk and to give a live presentation on stage about why they chose the cut and colour for each look.

The judging panel, which included Stuart Matuska, Monica Teodoro, Indira Schauwecker, Efi Davies and Cos Sakkas spent some time deliberating after the three presentations and eventually decided to name Team 2 as the TONI&GUY Breakthrough Team Xtra 2019 Champions.

TONI&GUY Breakthrough Team mentor Gary France said;“Each year we have 45-50 people apply to take part in the programme as it has a reputation for being a valuable stepping stone for career progression. The  candidates who make it to the interview process have to demonstrate creativity and innovative concepts. Following the interview process the submissions were narrowed down to a small pool of candidates. The candidates are asked to provide evidence of what they have done for themselves to further their career”.

At the end of the night the 12 new members of the Breakthrough Team Xtra for 2020 were announced:

Kristian Szalay, East Sheen

Kenny Harris, St Albans

Darion La Porta, Westfield White City

Miryam Valiente Blanco, Bedford Street, Covent Garden

Katie Mahoney, Stockton Heath

Gabriel Sendino, Shoreditch

Melisa Hernandez, Bastille Paris

Leah Pearson, Shoreditch

Gareth Jones, Didsbury

Zuzanna Lechowicz Grotynska, Harleem, NLD

Abi Lambert, York

Dimitar Balev, Harrow

Get more hairdressing news, advice and exclusive competitions delivered straight to your inbox




Load more