British Hairdressing Awards

British Hairdressing Awards Celebrate Creative Talent

by Matthew Batham / November 29, 2016

HJ’s 2016 British Hairdressing Awards, sponsored by Schwarzkopf Professional, saw the stars of our industry out in force, celebrating the creative talent that has made Britain the envy of the hairdressing world.

HJ’s executive director, Jayne Lewis-Orr, welcomed guests to the Grosvenor House hotel, Park Lane, telling all the finalists that they should be immensely proud of their achievements. ”This is a culmination of hard work and dedication,” she said. “This industry continues to grow, develop and innovate. The British Hairdressing Awards celebrates the creativity that the rest of the world aspires to.”

Celebrity host David Walliams brought his unique brand of humour to the event, while X Factor 2015 winner Louisa Johnson provided the musical interlude.

Angelo Seminara took home the most prestigious award of the night, British Hairdresser of the Year – marking his fourth victory, rivalling Akin Konizi and his former mentor, Trevor Sorbie.
The night also saw winners announced in a host of regional and specialist categories.

Congratulations to all our winners!


Eastern Hairdresser of the Year
Joseph I’Anson and Lisa Graham, Mark Leeson, Mansfield

London Hairdresser of the Year
Luke Benson, D&J Ambrose, Pinner, Middlesex

Midlands Hairdresser of the Year
Nick Malenko and Sophie Beattie, Royston Blythe, Wolverhampton

North Eastern Hairdresser of the Year
Joseph Ferraro, Joseph Ferraro, Harrogate

North Western Hairdresser of the Year
Marcello Moccia, Room 97 Creative Hairdressing, Wakefield

Northern Ireland Hairdresser of the Year
Julian Dalrymple, The Sitting Room Hairdressing, Ballymena

Scottish Hairdresser of the Year
Suzie McGill and Dylan Brittain, Rainbow Room International, Uddingston

Southern Hairdresser of the Year
Anne Veck, Anne Veck Salons, Oxford

Wales & South West Hairdresser of the Year
Steven Smart, Smartest 73, Weston-Super-Mare

Afro Hairdresser of the Year
Robert Eaton and Karla Ancliff-Smith, Russell Eaton, Leeds

Artistic team of the Year
Angelo Vallillo Academy, Nottingham

Avent-garde Hairdresser of the Year
Indira Schauwecker, TONI&GUY, Covent Garden

Men’s Hairdresser of the Year
Terri Kay and Andrea Giles, Mark Leeson, Mansfield

Newcomer of the Year
William Lamb, Daniel Granger Hairdressing, Northampton

Schwarzkopf Professional British Colour Technician of the Year
Robert Eaton, Russell Eaton, Leeds



Load more