British Hairdressing Awards

Akin Konizi is British Hairdresser of the Year

by sophieh / last updated November 25, 2008

Akin Konizi has been named HJ’s British Hairdresser of the Year 2008 at the prestigious British Hairdressing Awards.

The hob Salons artistic director capped off a remarkable evening for the London and Hertfordshire salon group, who also walked away with Artistic Team of the Year as well as the Schwarzkopf Professional British Colour Technician of the Year award for colourist Christel Lundqvist.

British Hairdressing Awards 2008 winners in full

Reflecting on his amazing evening, the new British Hairdresser of the Year, Akin Konizi said: “What do you expect me to say? I have not got words. This is too much. Every dream I have ever had has been fulfilled this evening.”

After thanking his business partners Clive Collins and Paul Simbler as well as photographer John Rawson, the man he described as his guide, Akin made a promise to the industry.

He added: “I promise you that I will represent you in the way you deserve and I always will because I love this industry.

Other highlights of the evening included Schwarzkopf Professional’s Peter Belcher receiving an award for his outstanding contribution to British Hairdressing and a a heavily pregnant Tracey Devine winning Scottish Hairdresser of the Year for a third successive year.

The evening also saw Errol Douglas (Afro Hairdresser of the Year), Trevor Sorbie Artistic Team (Artistic Team of the Year) Tim Scott-Wright (Midlands Hairdresser of the Year) and Rob Eaton (North Eastern Hairdresser of the Year) being welcomed into the hairdressing Hall of Fame.

British Hairdressing Awards 2008 winners in full

Regional Awards

North Western Hairdresser of the Year

Sharon Peake, Ethos Hairdressing 

Wales & South Western Hairdresser of the Year

Scott Smurthwaite, Cream

Southern Hairdresser Of The Year

Rae Palmer, Rae Palmer

North Eastern Hairdresser Of The Year

Paul Ferguson, Hooker & Young

Midlands Hairdresser Of The Year

Emma Steven, Lisa Shepherd Salons

Eastern Hairdresser Of The Year

Terri Kay, Mark Leeson, Hair, Body & Mind 

London Hairdresser Of The Year

Cos Sakkas, TONI&GUY, Covent Garden 

Northern Ireland Hairdresser Of The Year

Keith Kane, Keith Kane Hair International 

Scottish Hairdresser Of The Year 

Tracey Devine, Angels

British Hairdressing Awards 2008 Specialist Awards

Afro Hairdresser Of The Year

Claire Rothstein, Bloww

Avant Garde Hairdresser Of The Year

James Rowe, Kontakt

Men’s Hairdresser Of The Year

Jamie Stevens, Errol Douglas

Newcomer Of The Year

Victoria Nebbett, Monroe Hairdressing

Artistic Team Of The Year

hob Salons Creative Team

Schwarzkopf Professional British Colour Technician Of The Year

Christel Lundqvist, hob Salons

British Hairdresser of the Year 

Akin Konizi, hob Salons

 British Hairdressing Awards 2008

Get more hairdressing news, advice and exclusive competitions delivered straight to your inbox



Load more