• Home » Awards & Events » British Hairdressing Awards » HJ's British Hairdressing Awards Newcomer of the Year: Where Are They Now?

    HJ's British Hairdressing Awards Newcomer of the Year: Where Are They Now?


    HJ‘s British Hairdressing Awards, sponsored by Schwarzkopf Professional,  is a great springboard for a successful career as these former winners of Newcomer of the Year can confirm.

    Sam Burnett

    Newcomer of the Year: 2003

    Often to be found behind the scenes or presenting on stage, Sam is joint leader of the Rush artistic team, which he set up alongside fellow former Newcomer of the Year, Tina Farey. He has had work published in numerous high-profile magazines, including Elle, Emirates Woman and Vogue Ukraine, and worked backstage on top name shows such as Marios Schwab, Preen and Peter Pilotto, where he styled Cara Delevingne’s hair for the Autumn/Winter 2013 show. He has also been finalised for Southern Hairdresser of the Year and was part of the winning Artistic Team of the Year in both 2004 and 2010.

    Darren Ambrose

    Newcomer of the Year: 1992

    Since scooping the Newcomer of the Year award in 1992, Darren has gone on to win five more accolades at HJ’s British Hairdressing Awards, including Eastern Hairdresser of the Year and Avant Garde Hairdresser of the Year three times, earning him a place in the Hall of Fame. Alongside wife Jackie, he runs D&J Ambrose, a busy salon in Pinner, Middlesex, and is a strong mentor to his team which includes current Newcomer of the Year, Kieran Tudor. He is also a global ambassador for Wella Professional, a role which has seen him present shows in Russia, China and New York.

    sacha-mascolo-and-millers.jpgJason and India Miller

    Newcomer of the Year: 1987/1988

    Having won Newcomer of the Year within 12 months of each other, Jason and India Miller have spearheaded the Charlie Miller artistic team since the mid 1990s. Working with L’Oréal Professionnel, they have styled for industry shows, seminars and workshops across five continents, and are currently preparing for a new show at the L’Oréal Colour Trophy Grand Final in Shanghai this September. Heading the looks for the MTV Europe Music Awards for 10 years, styling at the Edinburgh Film Festival and entering HJ’s British Hairdressing Awards Hall of Fame for their three Scottish Hairdresser of the Year wins are among the duo’s other accolades.

    Sacha Mascolo-Tarbuck

    Newcomer of the Year: 1991

    As the youngest ever winner of Newcomer of the Year at just 19, Sacha has gone on to become global creative director of Toni & Guy. She has worked alongside legendary photographers David Bailey and Rankin, and styled the likes of Erin O’Connor, Helena Christensen, Jerry Hall and Sadie Frost. Her editorial credits include Vogue, Harpers Bazaar, Tatler and Elle and she has worked with fashion designers such as Todd Lynn and Giles Deacon. She also scooped London Hairdresser of the Year in 1999.

    For more information about HJ’s 2013 British Hairdressing Awards and to book your tickets, call Dan Eversfield on 020 8652 8845 or email daniel.eversfield@rbi.co.uk

    Comments are closed.